“Monumental”

Until today, I’d never, in my 50 yrs of being raised in the United States, ever heard of a national monument in Plymouth, MA,  honoring our nation’s forefathers. The name of this is the National Monument to the Forefathers.

This same monument is the one pictured in this advertisement, and I gather is at the heart of the movie the banner promotes. 

I didn’t see but one small ad for the movie before it came out in theaters, and didn’t really know anything about it. This morning, I watched a clip from the Today show, featuring Kirk Cameron, as the DVD version is being now released. Now I am intrigued. 

Since spending a couple of years working closely with my youngest in a cyber charter school back when she was in 4th-6th grade, I suddenly found an interest for history I do not remember having in school. I don’t know if I had just found it boring or if it all just seems more applicable now. It’s funny how our roots just come to the forefront at some point in our lives. That’s how I perceive this movie, as Mr. Cameron took the time and effort to study our nation’s beginnings on both the shores of home and abroad. 

Here’s a portion of the synopsis of the movie from the website…

“Monumental is the story of America’s beginnings. Presented, produced, and starring Kirk Cameron, the 90-minute true story follows this father of six across Europe and the U.S. as he seeks to discover America’s true “national treasure” – the people, places, and principles that made America the freest, most prosperous and generous nation the world has ever known.”

Here’s the website for the movie – which is also the source for the web banner:

http://www.monumentalmovie.com/

In case, with all of the recent events in our nation’s journey, you’ve wondered how we got here, where we’ve been, and possibly concerned about where we’re going, I have the feeling this production holds some key insights and possibly answers to this nation’s dilemmas. 

Personally, I will be getting a hold of this one! And hopefully someday, making a trip north to see this monument to our forefathers. 

Leave a Reply

