I’m Still Here… :)

Hey there! Yep, I’m still around. I can’t believe it’s nearly a month since I’ve posted.. or at least it seems that long. Not even a picture challenge.

There was Thanksgiving – busy busy busy. 

But actually I think it started, because we were going through some stuff around here – actually, there seems to be a lot of that going around lately. And it’s my hope to be transparent and be able to share ‘daily’ life on here, given the name of the blog and everything. A.K.A. – life is not always a breeze – but there’s a Way through. But there’s a mom on here, who posted something about the effect that her openness in sharing their family’s trials were having on her loved ones, and that she was going to be backing off a bit. I’m grateful for that post, and it’s probably the main reason I haven’t posted for a bit. Not every trial is ours to share. There is usually a time and a season, but hurting someone by sharing their stuff out of right timing is not ok.

In house, we’ve had stuff. Most of it typical too many people in too small of a space stuff. Much of it is that everyone seems to be dealing with something hard, either all at the same time, or one right after the other – literally. There’s been relationships issues, illnesses, and of course the financial woes that hit most people sooner or later. In the midst, was a few sleepless nights when my daughter got a text telling her that one of her best friends had been shot – multiple times. He’d face long surgery(ies) and then didn’t seem to want to wake up for a bit. It was a LONG couple of days. Didn’t help the waiting considering they are a whole ocean away. But by the grace of God and gazillions of prayers, he’s doing well at a rapid pace. 

I’ve also tried to back off time on the computer. It’s so easy to get caught up in the latest ‘passion’, whether it be a game, a social site, writing blogs, photography or a project… etc., etc. Suddenly a passion can become a distraction. OOPS!

It’s sort of funny, I’ve been thinking about what to post, realizing for the last couple of weeks that it hadn’t been awhile. As time went on, I didn’t really think I had anything worth reading to right, and really didn’t have time to sit and think on it. 🙂  Most of the posts haven’t been a result of thinking about it anyhow – it’s been a frame of mind, like a photographer looking at life through a lens – Everything is potential photo. 

Then yesterday, I pulled into my driveway, and I came upon a realization, not for the first time. It was the question of motive. I loved that this new opportunity to write had opened up, and then the discovery of the photo challenges. I also have a blog regarding missions (Mission Possible!… – see links) that I’d started just after this one, as a way to let people see the workings of the ministry in Nicaragua where I’ll be heading – someday. Yea.. that’s another story. Seems there is always something to dig into, the question is why. 

So, I need to ask myself why did I start the blogs? What are my goals for them. Who am I writing for? Funny how having ‘followers’ can affect your motivations. Makes me think about my motives for who I follow and why too. I can’t follow everyone.. oh it’s just not possible to read everyone’s stuff all the time, as fun as that is.

And look here, I’ve just gone rambling on again, and really need to stand up and get the next task on the agenda done and not worry about grammar and spelling, and did I write well and all that. Cookie’s don’t bake themselves, nor the vacuum run itself, and oh darn, I see that, though loaded, the dishwasher neglected to turn itself on, and the clothes in the dryer didn’t hop themselves on hangers or magically fold. Guess maybe someone should put the washed ones in the dryer too. And I bet maybe the bills aren’t going to pay themselves either… and Oh Shoot!  the bed didn’t get made yet today! 

So, to those who’ve graced my list of followers, I’m still here, in case you were wondering. I’ve not fallen off the face of the planet yet. :0) Just caught up in this thing called life, actually, more like trying to get caught up!  lol. I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving and are enjoying and receiving the blessings of the Christmas season. I pray your Christmas time is full of joy, laughter and hope, and time to slow down and appreciate all the parts of life that are important. 

Till we meet again!!

Leave a Reply

