Resolutions for a New Year – 2013

I’m going to attempt to keep this somewhat brief, it’s already nearly 11:30 pm and I need to get some sleep.

I decided to open up the blog to see what this weekend’s weekly photo challenge was, and had a good chuckle when I read the topic: Resolved. I must admit that I don’t normally make New Year’s resolutions, either I’ve not felt so moved, or I didn’t think I’d be able to follow through. This is why the word resolved was funny.

This year, I’m seeing making a few resolutions a bit differently. There are some things I’d like to accomplish, or at least work on this year, and it seems like a good time to do them. I’d been thinking about this for a good week or so, and I kept coming back to the word resolved. To make a resolution that’s going to be followed through on, one must be resolved to do so. So I’ve been taking a little bit of time to better define what I’m resolved – or should I say willing to be committed – to. Ahh, now there’s a more concrete word, committed. New Year’s resolutions are just way to easy to break, forget or give up on. But a commitment, well that’s not so easily walked away from.

Tomorrow, I’ll take and post my pic, or two, on one or more of my resolutions for this year. While I’ve not gotten them nailed down in detail even yet, I have a ‘theme’ for 2013. This the year I start doing for me. Yep, you read that right, for me.

It must have started around Christmas time, and to be fair to others, I’ll not go into the details of the why. I just remember that I wanted to do something, and everyone else was squashing the joy of it. Then I had the thought, ‘Hey, ya know what, I’m going to do this anyways, just because I want to’; “I’m going to do this for me.” This was not about being selfish, it was about doing something I love to do, but just because I enjoy it even if noone else cares.

Therein lies the theme, this year, I’m going to do things that I want to do, things I’ve always wanted to do – some of them to start at least. Like painting. Ever since I was in kindergarten, I loved the standing in front of a big easel with the big bottles of paint and a blank page before me. I’ve put this off for such a long time. Kids mostly. But now, well, I just picked up a batch of paints (last box went to my artistic teen) which was all I still needed to get a start. I still would like a tall easel, but for now, I’ll borrow the kiddo’s.

I’m going to take more bubble baths, and get better disciplined about taking care of me – like lotions and foot baths and time to chill. I’m going to get apart to read the load of books I’ve had lying collecting dust and the half dozen I recently loaded on the Kindle. I’m going to get things caught up around here, and get some painting and decorating done that’s taken much too long to get started. But I’m going to do them mostly for me. It’s time to get to my ‘want to do’ list. It turns out, that my ‘to do’ list never ever gets any shorter, and time keeps slipping away quicker and quicker.

I’m taking a training/online coaching class with a prophet I respect – cool way to start the new year. Oh, and not long ago, I started learning how to make some simple bracelets, but I really want to get serious about some jewelry making – something else I’ve always wanted to do. Oh, and then there are a couple of instruments that have or are coming my way that I want to learn, or get more proficient on which leads to of course learning some new music (which I just filled the music stand up with) and getting down to starting to take writing more seriously. Oh yeah, and writing. There’s a book I started back in ’08 that I need to dedicate time to actually accomplishing!

Of course there’s the losing weight thing, but honestly, in light of the doing things ‘for me’ vein, I’m going to work on loving me into a healthier being, just cause I’m worth it. 🙂 And last but not least, the finances! Ha!! Just got all of our bills caught up!!!! Now, to just stay disciplined enough to keep it all on track and it should be a good year with the ultimate goal of making headway on getting completely out of debt.

Well, I think that’s enough rambling for this sitting. And at this point, I’m declaring over my 2013, that the details of my ‘resolutions’ are nowhere near as important as keeping the motive my resolve for this: to be a year to do for me. NOT a selfish I’m the only one who matters, but a ‘because I want to’ – even when I’m serving another. 🙂 Time to de-stress, lighten up and have some fun.

Have a great New Year ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

