“Jesus Wept”

“Blessed are those who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.” Matthew 5:4

     Jan 22, 2013 – A minister I know posted a request for prayer for a friend who was scheduled for a transplant surgery. As I was beginning to pray, I thought of the family of the organ donor. While one family is finding hope this morning, another mourns.

I  remembered the grief of lost ones two others are going through presently. As I began to pray for these families, “blessed are those who mourn” comes to mind. I had to think about this for a moment; “for they will be comforted.” I love this about God. He is not just some far off entity oblivious to our pain. He knows every heartache and no tear goes unnoticed.

Jesus was drawn to the widow in the funeral procession mourning her son, and gave him back to her. The word says that his heart went out to her. And Lazarus; He was undaunted by the fact that Lazarus would already be in the grave before His arrival – He knew the outcome. Even so, once there, “Jesus wept.”

Oh, I cry almost every time I read this passage. When He wept, “the Jews said, “See how he loved him!” Yes, Jesus loved Lazarus, and his sisters, Martha and Mary. John 11:5 states this, but I don’t think He wept in mourning for Lazarus. I can’t help but believe that He “was moved deeply”, feeling deeply the pain and the sorrow of Mary, Martha and those who mourned. Though God would be glorified, their pain was real. I cry, because I feel His compassion. That is so beautiful to me, that He loves us so dearly and so personally. It just makes me love Him all the more.

He is not unmoved.

“When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come along with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in spirit and troubled.

“Where have your laid him?” he asked.
“Come and see Lord,” they replied.
Jesus wept.
Once more deeply moved, came to the tomb…”

The passage is found in John 11. I encourage you to read it, putting yourself in the middle of the story. Where are you? Allow yourself to get caught up in the moment. Feel the sorrow, but also feel His Heart. Mourn with them, but then also rejoice with them!

Where are you in this story? If you are the one in mourning, take heart. He KNOWS your pain and stands ready to bring you comfort.

Lord, I ask you to bless those who mourn today. Comfort them with your Presence, for truly You are close to the broken-hearted. Amen

Matthew 5:4
John 11
Psalm 34:18

Leave a Reply

