Heartbreaks & Hope

In our existence, there are simple truths.

When simple truths clash, a question begins to form.

When the ‘right’ question is posed, an answer appears.

In the end, both truths still stand, with a greater truth revealed.

Example.

As a kid I was generally a happy kid, and felt happy MOST of the time. Growing up is not always so fun, life happens and ‘happiness’ can erode. A person with a tender and compassionate heart sees and feels the injustices and pain of others, and it causes one’s heart to break. I’ve been there alot in the last 10 years.

Yet it is preached that one who is a genuine believer in Christ and has Him living inside, should be living a life revealing the joy and happiness of being found in Him and Him in us. You know, the “if you’re happy and you know it then your face will surely show it”.

These truths seem to clash. 

Suddenly a simple question is asked. “How can I be happy when my heart is always breaking?” 

An answer was suddenly given: ‘…for the joy that was set before Him, He endured the cross…’; from Hebrews 12:1

He suffered, a suffering mankind may never ever fully comprehend. Suffering involves pain. Suffering is not fun, nor joyful. Yet we as Christians are to consider suffering all joy. For some, there is a joy present in the midst – yeah… I’ve not arrived yet. I think for most of us, we endure with the knowledge and hope for the joy on the other side of suffering. We set that joy before us, and walk forward. “Weeping may stay for the night, But joy comes in the morning.” from Psalm 30:5 HNV. 

Sometimes the night is long, but the morning is coming. The closer morning comes, the more hope and joy with it rises. What do others see when we walk through stuff? I do not have to put on a happy face and pretend to be something I’m not. But on the other hand, I will keep moving forward, without just complaining and putting up a big fuss. I will continue to believe and hope. I will continue to stand, even if it’s on my knees or my face. And when the victory has manifested itself in it’s fullness, I will be over the top in gratitude and rejoicing in fullness of joy. For the joy set before – however far down the path that may be – I will endure; knowing whatever I walk out is so minor in comparison to what He has done and knowing He’s already walked my path before me, enduring the cross on my behalf. 

Leave a Reply

