How Beautiful are the Feet…

Truly, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring the good news… At what COST do they do so?¨Here in the mountainous regions of Nicaragua, this verse has taken on a new deeper meaning… 

Watching one I love dearly, preach while his feet were in excruciating pain, sometimes trying to hide it when what he really wanted to do was cry, I could no longer watch his face. All I wanted to do was cry. I remembered a vision a team member had before she came, of Jesus washing his feet, and I could see it. With such great love and care, hands full of healing water cupped in His Hands – suddenly that´s all I wanted to do, knowing there´d be weeping in the process. I knew Jesus saw his feet as beautiful, so very beautiful… saw it again when I opened my bible, for about the 5th time this trip (or week?) to Isaiah 53…

My heart breaking, I also saw the woman washing the feet of Jesus with her tears… I can not help but wonder… what did she know? or what did she see?? Did she see the cost these feet had paid to bring the good news of love and freedom to her and others? Did she see the high price they were soon to pay to redeem us all? 

Do we see the cost that is paid by those who carry the good news? We are quick to judge failures and that which we do not understand. We love the blessings that ministers bring… but do we ever stop to consider the cost that they have paid?? Do we ever stop to consider what those who have fallen have had to walk through, that the enemy would have taken such great length to bring them down and take them out? Who brings the feast of the good news to your table? Will you take a good look, and see these feet as beautiful, very very precious and beautiful… I´m pretty sure Jesus does.

And what about you? Are you willing to count the cost and walk across the mountains with the good news that others might recieve that beauty?

How beautiful upon the mountains
Are the feet of him who brings good news,
Who proclaims peace,
Who brings glad tidings of good things,
Who proclaims salvation,
Who says to Zion,
“Your God reigns!”

Isaiah 52:7

Leave a Reply

